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The Arkansas Insurance Department is 
charged with regulating all insurance companies that 
do business in the State of Arkansas.  The Department 
has adopted as its Mission Statement “To serve 
and protect the public interest by the equitable 
enforcement of the state’s laws and regulations 
affecting the insurance industry.  The primary 
mission of the State Insurance Department shall 
be consumer protection through insurer solvency 
and market conduct regulation, and fraud 
prosecution and deterrence.”

If you experience a problem with automobile, 
homeowners, life or health insurance, the Arkansas 
Insurance Department is the state agency 
responsible for assisting you with the problem.  We 
are also responsible for making certain insurance 
companies are financially sound and they treat their 
policyholders and claimants appropriately.

In this pamphlet we cannot tell you all you need 
to know about insurance.  This material is intended 
to generate questions that will help you evaluate 
your policies and ask questions either of your agent, 
your insurance company or the Arkansas Insurance 
Department.  You can reach us at:

Arkansas Insurance Department
Consumer Services Division

1200 West Third Street
Little Rock, AR  72201-1904

Phone: 501-371-2640 or 800-852-5494
Fax: 501-371-2749

E-mail: insurance.consumers@arkansas.gov
Website:  www.insurance.arkansas.gov/csd.htm

Check With Your State 
Insurance Department
We believe insurance is the most 

important product consumers purchase.  
Unfortunately, most of us know very 
little about the purchases we make, but 
we rely on insurance to cover our life, our 
health, our homes and our automobiles.  
We cannot afford to make the wrong 
purchase or not have the right coverage.  
Therefore, it is important that you, as 
an insurance consumer, know what 
you have purchased.  If you have any 
questions or need assistance, please do 
not hesitate to call our office.
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back and a 12 month look forward (18 months if you are 
a late enrollee).  The Group preexisting clause cannot 
be applied to certain categories of people: pregnancy, 
newborns, newly adopted. No preexisting conditions 
or exclusions can be placed upon you if you have prior 
creditable coverage of up to 12 months with no break in 
coverage of over 63 days.

Automobile Insurance

Arkansas law requires the following as of 8/99:

$25,000 Per Person/$50,000 Per Accident 
Bodily Injury Liability

$25,000 Property Damage Liability

Everybody’s needs are different, but it is important 
that you review your policy. If you have what you deem 
to be commonly referred to as “full coverage” you may 
need to look at your automobile insurance policy to 
determine if you need all of the coverage provided 
under “full coverage”.  You may only need to carry 
collision and comprehensive on your car and the liability 
insurance that is required by Arkansas Law.  Many 
times consumers carry more automobile insurance than 
they need.   

If you have any questions about the amount of 
coverage you need, you can talk to your agent, or you 
can call the Consumer Services Division of the Arkansas 
Insurance Department at our toll free number 1-800-
852-5494.  One of our Consumer Services Investigators 
will be glad to visit with you regarding your coverage 
questions.

	

Homeowners Insurance
Homeowners insurance is another necessity in life.  

Before you make any changes to your homeowner’s 
policy, you should check with your mortgage company 
to make certain exactly what coverage you must maintain 
on your home.  Again, before you make any changes, you 
may want to talk with your insurance agent or you may 
call the Consumer Services Division at the Arkansas 
Insurance Department at our toll free number  1-800-
852-5494 and ask to speak with an Investigator.

Life Insurance

There are four types of life insurance we want to 
discuss in this pamphlet, Whole Life, Group Term Life, 
Universal Life and Annuities.

Whole Life:  Whole Life is the type of insurance 
most people are familiar with.  It is often referred to as 
straight life insurance.  Whole life insurance pays a death 
benefit to a designated Beneficiary upon the death of the 
insured.  Whole life insurance accumulates “Cash Value” 
which can be used in the form of a loan or can be used to 
pay the premiums when the insured is unable to make the 
payments.

	 If you are in faced with an emergency, your whole 
life policy may have accumulated some “Cash 
Value” that could be a valuable resource for you.  
You will need to contact your insurance company 
regarding the details.

Group Term Life:  Your employer may have provided 
you with Group Life Insurance.  This may be important life 
insurance if you do not have any other life insurance.

If you have group life insurance, you may be entitled 
to convert the group life to an individual (whole life) 
policy .

	 See your human resources person for informa-
tion on how to convert your group life coverage 
to individual whole life coverage.  You must do so 
within 30 days of your termination.  Make your 
request in writing.

Universal Life:  Universal Life is a very complicated 
type of life insurance where the proceeds are based on 
interest accumulation rates, cost of insurance and age 
of insured, rather than set amounts.  Premiums will vary 
accordingly.

Annuities:  Annuities pay the annuitant an income 
every month after the date set for the annuity begins.  Pre-
miums may be paid in a lump sum, by making monthly 
payments, or the premium may vary based on your ability 
to pay.

	 With Universal Life and Annuities you may have 
access to a cash value that has accumulated in 
your policy.  There may be surrender charges or 

other penalties that must be paid when you surrender your 
policy for cash.  Contact your insurance agent or company 
regarding the details.

Group Health Insurance

One of the more important benefits your employer may provide 
is health care benefits.  These health care benefits may be through an 
insurance policy your employer purchased or through what is referred 
to as a “self-funded” plan.  It is important to know if your employer 
is offering a self-funded program or a fully insured program, as your 
personal rights are not the same for each kind of program.

The Arkansas Insurance Department has no regulatory au-
thority over a self-funded plan because it is not an insurance policy.  
Complaints and grievances over a self-funded health plan would be 
handled by ERISA.  You can contact ERISA at:

United States Department of Labor
Pension & Welfare Benefit Administration

Federal Building, Room 707
525 Griffin Street, Dallas, TX  75202

1-214-767-6831; 1-866-444-3272

A Federal law commonly referred to, as “COBRA” requires 
an EMPLOYER of 20 or more employees to permit an employee 
who is terminated to continue their health benefit plan for up to 18 
months.  It does not matter whether the plan is self-funded or from an 
insurance company.  The requirement is placed on the EMPLOYER.  
The employee who chooses to have their coverage extended under 
“COBRA” will have to pay the portion of the contribution made by 
the employer, the portion of the contribution paid by the employee, 
and a 2% administrative fee (102%).  Employees with health problems 
or no other coverage should give serious consideration to keeping 
this coverage.  Employees have 60 days after termination or date 
of the “COBRA” notice, whichever is latter, to make a decision to 
continue the coverage under “COBRA”.  If the employer is ceasing 
all operations, in other words, going out of business, you may not 
have the benefit of continuing under “COBRA”.

If you have a fully funded group policy, you may be entitled to 
continuation and or conversion options under state law regardless of 
the number of employees.

Arkansas Insurance Department Act 977 (ARKANSAS’ HIPAA) 
states that if you have Group coverage that applies to groups of 2 and 
larger, you are guaranteed health coverage for life as long as you can 
pay the premiums.  It limits preexisting conditions to 6 months look 


